Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Here I am at work sitting at my desk and I am a little bored. Not, “I need to go to a party or the movies” bored. I am bored for a major adventure. Then I began to think about the types of adventures which may relieve my boredom, and I got excited.
These are two of my top choices: The Serengeti and the Grand Canyon.
When these two came to mind, I had a laugh. Leave it to me to make my two adventures so very far from the mundane that they end up being two of the world’s seven natural wonders!
Yeah, I go big! Music that moves me in an epic way, dark chocolate that rocks your insides when you taste it, and adventures that are beyond wondrous. That’s some kinda boredom relief!

The Serengeti ~

”Is located in north Tanzania and extends to south-western Kenya. The Kenyan part of the Serengeti is known as Maasai (Masai) Mara. The Serengeti hosts the largest terrestrial mammal migration in the world, which helps secure it as one of the Seven Natural Wonders of Africa, The Serengeti hosts the largest terrestrial mammal migration in the world, which helps secure it as one of the Seven Natural Wonders of Africa, Each year around the same time the circular great wildebeest migration begins in the Ngorongoro area of the southern Serengeti of Tanzania. This migration is a natural phenomenon determined by the availability of grazing. It lasts from approximately January to March, when the calving season begins.” ~ Wikipedia
serengetizebralion

serengeti lion

serengeti-zebra

The Grand Canyon ~
“The Grand Canyon is a steep-sided canyon carved by the Colorado River in the Unites States in the state of Arizona. It is contained within and managed by Grand Canyon National Park. President Theodore Roosevelt was a major proponent of preservation of the Grand Canyon area, and visited it on numerous occasions to hunt and enjoy the scenery. It is considered one of the Seven Natural Wonders of the World. The Grand Canyon is 277 miles (446 km) long, up to 18 miles (29 km) wide and attains a depth of over a mile (6,000 feet or 1,800 meters). Nearly two billion years of the earth’s geological history has been exposed as the Colorado River and its tributaries cut their channels through layer after layer of rock. For thousands of years, the area has been continuously inhabited by Native Americans who built settlements within the canyon and its many caves.” ~ Wikipedia
canyon5_LG

grand canyon sunset

grand_canyon_scenery-12355

There are many more adventures which come to mind but these are the two that are on the top of my list for Epic boredom elimination.
Just so you know, I am not the adrenaline junkie and I will never base jump, skydive nor zip line! I will most likely enjoy the fascination of the Serengeti bathe in big cat repellant (I do not believe that there is such a thing, but I will speak to my dearest science nerd to concoct a formula), and make sure that potentially rogue wilderbeast understand that the rule is, “Do not, under any circumstances, charge the tourist!”
At the Grand Canyon, I will likely experience a lot of vertigo and spend the entire adventure holding tenaciously to rails where applicable and the arm of my love. (Note to self: No long nails for the trip in order to prevent digging in and scarring of, the arms of my love.)
So with all my fears of heights and being eaten by large wild furry animals, these are the adventures which are on my mind today, and which I will enjoy thoroughly when the day comes. They are now placed on my vision board (that’s a whole other post!) I am quietly and slowly planning.
Both these adventures depict nature in a big way. I love nature and love to see it in action.
While there are some manmade elements to these two places, it’s predominately nature with her badass self (yeah, nature is a woman! tee…hee) carving out and directing all these wondrous things.
Where would you love to visit and have your next adventure? Pray tell!

